top of page
Search
40056493

Captivating Moments: The Art of Dan Baker's Photography TASK 1.5

Updated: Nov 30, 2023

Week 5 was all about photography. We were tasked with researching a local photographer by the name of Dan Baker. I have been using secondary research methods to investigate the photographs that Dan Baker has taken. And I have found some interesting photographs that I like and take inspiration from. So here are some of the photographs that I found interesting and unique:

I have chosen this photograph because I absolutely adore the way the person is walking by the seaside in the distance. It makes this photograph look more natural as it is unexpected. But that is not all that makes this photo incredible. What really caught my eye is the bright, shining moon and how its beautiful glow reflects on the water. It gives the whole scene a dreamy feel, and that is exactly why I love it about it so much.

This photograph is one of my absolute favourites. In my opinion, it's one of Dan Baker's greatest shots. It shows a child falling from what seems like the sky while a seagull flies past. It creates the interesting illusion that the seagull dropped the child and flew away. The photo has a nice contrast and exposure, making it visually striking.

I have noticed that Dan Baker takes lots of photographs of really high-contrast objects, which I personally fell in love with. I was already using my theory behind photography and planning ahead of what I was going to do on my trip to Cleethorpes. I went on to watch a few videos of Dan Baker explaining that he didn't expect anything to be interested in or to take pictures of; however, when he arrived, ideas came to him, and that is when I realised that I should think less of the trip and wait for the ideas to come to me. This photograph really inspired me to recreate this style of photography.

Overall, I love Dan Baker's style, and I hope to use it more in my photography. I believe that his style is one of my favourites. I was really excited to recreate his photographs. Dan Baker, in my opinion, is a really good photographer with a similar style to my photographs.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Horror Audio Blog (Project 4)

To give you a bit of context, this project is to learn the importance of using sounds in horror movies. This will involve us practicing...

Comments


bottom of page